The Road Less Traveled

Footprints in the sand

I started working on my PhD in 2013. It was a decision that I made when I felt secure in my full-time position.  This was my second professional position in student affairs, I’d been in the role for almost two full years, and I had found my motivation. Little did I know that in the same summer I began taking classes, my co-workers moved on to new opportunities and I would have an almost completely new staff of coworkers and graduate assistants by my side.  A continuously told myself “there’s never going to be the ‘right time’ to start”, so I put my head down and barreled forward into full-time staff/part-time student mode.

I would tell myself that if I won the lottery I’d quit my job and go to school full time.  I wanted to be able to maintain the life I was used to (financially) while dedicating myself to my studies.  It was a fantasy. Well… I didn’t win the lottery, but I decided to make the change.

This week I will start a new chapter as a full-time graduate student.  As I said I didn’t win the lottery, but God provided me with all that I need.  Through an assistantship opportunity, additional grant-funded research work, my savings, and my parents, I’ll be able to finish my degree without incurring massive amounts of debt.

I decided to start a blog so that I could capture my thoughts and feelings as I move through this phase of my life.  I’m learning a lot about myself, about the world, and of course about education (my degree is in Educational Leadership).  I’m hoping that others will find words of encouragement or will engage in a conversation around my observations.  I have a perspective to share and I’m looking forward to seeing where this leads.

I’m not sure what’s in store for me, but I have a feeling it’s going to be a good ride.

Leave a Reply

