Bravery

Starting a blog has been pretty intimidating for me.  As you can see this is only my second post and the first (and only) one appeared in January.  Most of you are probably just now seeing that one as well because I’ve been hiding my blog.  I didn’t connect it to my social media accounts. I didn’t tell anyone it was out there. I didn’t want anyone to see it.  You might be thinking, “Stacey, if you didn’t want anyone to see it, then why did you start a blog? Why don’t you just get a journal?”.  Great question.  I’ve asked myself the same thing a couple of times.  The answer? Bravery.

I have a story to tell and I want to share my life with people.  In the digital age, I’ve found that it’s easy to connect with my closest friends via technology.  We’re all so spread out!  It only makes sense that I continue trying to connect with people via the internet.  That’s why I can’t just have a journal. I can’t keep these thoughts and feelings to myself, tucked away in a pretty little book that I keep on the nightstand.

However, it’s been really hard to open up.  A lot can come with telling your story.  You can make connections, find a sense of camaraderie among peers, and get validation for your thoughts and feelings.  The negative can come too. You’re open to ridicule, doubt, naysayers, and those that want to tear you down or laugh at your failures.

But I’ve come to the conclusion that I can’t worry about the negative anymore. I need to focus on all of the positive possibilities that can come from stepping out and opening myself up.  I don’t want to hold myself back and be afraid to share.

The mantra of a student group I worked with during my Master’s program went like this, “I am a beautiful woman of color and I have something to offer the world that no one else has.”

I hope that you’ll accept what I have to offer.  Challenge me. Agree with me. Like me. Or leave me alone.  The choice is yours. But I’m no longer afraid.

One thought on “Bravery

  1. You are brave and you are wonderful! So excited to follow you on life’s incredible journey – *continue following, that is.

    Hugs to you today, and everyday. Thanks for sharing yourself with the world – we are better because of you!

Leave a Reply

