Ten Minutes

Time is precious. We know that. We give minutes away all the time. But how much time do we give ourselves?

A couple months ago HigherEdLive hosted a show on Positive Psychology .  After I watched I decided I wanted to learn more about meditation. The concept of meditation seemed like a good place to start as I explored these concepts of positive psychology and mindfulness (future blog post to come). I started with Keith Edwards’s blog on meditation  and decided to watch the video on meditation at the top of the page.  The video was 9 minutes and 24 seconds.  I thought, “Oh this is short. Cool.”  Do you know how many times I tried to watch this video?

I honestly lost count. I would try to watch as a break from an interview I was transcribing or when I had some time before class one night.  I couldn’t seem to get more than 2 minutes into it before I’d have some thought about something on my ever-growing to-do list, or I’d get an email or a text or some other interruption.  Some thing always stopped me from being able to watch this video.  It was the strangest thing.  The real kicker? The whole message is about taking 10 minutes a day to meditate and actively DO NOTHING.

So, of course, I’m now mad at myself that I can’t take less than 10 minutes to watch a video about meditation. How am I ever going to take 10 minutes every day to not do anything?  Needless to say, I’m a little unsure of how this meditation thing will go.  It seems like something that would benefit my life. I have an overactive mind that prevents me from focusing on one thing for any considerable amount of time to do anything with it.  But still, I’m intrigued.

I will continue to try, however, to find that delicate balance between focusing too hard on my thoughts that I become anxious and not focusing enough on them that I fall asleep.  I’ll let you know how it goes, and you can give it a try, too, if you’d like.

If you could change your life with just ten minutes a day, would you take the time? Can you give yourself ten minutes?

Leave a Reply

