Point of View

Trying my hand at a little fiction today, friends.  XOXO.

A man and a woman walk through the park together, holding hands. They pass an old woman sitting on a bench. The old woman is knitting a small, red sweater. The man begins to cry.

Why now? Why right now? I’m supposed to be happy and strong and supportive and the rock.  I can’t believe just the sight of this little old lady who I don’t even know brings tears to my eyes.  Maybe it’s because Nana is finally gone.  She fought long and hard and beat cancer three times. Who knew a little cold would turn into pneumonia and take her away from us.  She was so close to seeing her first great-grandchild.  All the sweaters she knitted during chemo are hanging in his closest.  I know she’s watching, but I miss her like crazy. I just wish I could hug her one last time.

Don’t cry, my love. I know you miss her.  But think of this like a sign. We weren’t planning to take this walk but I need to stay moving to get this baby moving. Haha. Look. This was a sign.  This was Nana’s way of telling you that she’s always around. She’s still with us.  How often do we see little old ladies in the park? And knitting?! Hardly ever. It’s getting too cold for that this time of year.  So on this unexpectedly warm day, in this park we rarely visit, we see this woman knitting a sweater for a small child…that’s not a coincidence. That’s Nana.  It’s like she sent the sun to give us one last hug.

Oh! What a beautiful, young couple! She’s due any day now it seems. Hmm… I wonder if they’re having a boy or a girl. Oh but why is he crying? They should be excited right now. He must be nervous or worried for his gal.  Don’t worry, dear. She’ll be just fine.  We women are stronger than we look. Ha. I gave birth to four of my own and with a lot less than what they’ve got in these fancy-pants hospitals nowadays.  Yep, she’ll be just fine.  I sure hope this fits ok.  Kelly’s growing so fast.  I wonder if she’ll be tall like my Michael.  And gorgeous like her mother.  She could be a model one day, but then she might be too good for like granny’s handmade sweaters.  She could be a basketball player or a professor or an engineer for heaven’s sake. Her whole life is ahead of her. Hmmm… like that baby that’s on the way. What a beautiful couple…

“Hello.”

“Hello, dear. Enjoying your walk?”

“We are.”

“It’s a beautiful day.”

“It sure is. Makes you feel warm inside. As if someone’s watching from up there and decided to reach back for a hug.”

(Pausing with surprise) “I was thinking the same thing.”

Leave a Reply

