Being It

Part 3 of 3. Read parts 1 and 2!

In the first two parts of this series, I talked about life as a cycle of losing and finding myself.  I was thinking about this yesterday but couldn’t quite get everything to come together to write about it.  I’m closer but a series of quotes will most likely explain what I’m thinking.

“Not till we are lost do we begin to find ourselves.”- Henry David Thoreau

This describes the process. This is my life. I’m realizing that growth comes from the struggle. It’s when we’re put to the test that we really see “what we’re made of”.

“A smooth sea never made a skilled sailor.”- Unknown

So what now? After a struggle or a trauma, it’s natural to want to hide and become invisible.  It feels as though everyone is looking at you and seeing what you’ve done.  You’re marked. You’re stained. You’re tainted in a way.  But here’s the thing. You are not what you do.  You are more than your actions, your job, your title.

I commit today to no longer define myself by my actions, right or wrong, good or bad.  That’s only a piece of my story.  I will reflect upon and pick the adjectives that describe me, my character, my heart. I will keep that at the forefront.  No longer afraid to live. To be seen. To be happy.  To experience the full spectrum of emotions.

“And the day came when the risk it took to remain tightly closed in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to bloom.  This is the element of freedom.” -Alicia Keys, The Element of Freedom

Stay encouraged, everyone.  Every day that we have on this earth is another chance to get it right. Another chance to reinvent ourselves. Another opportunity to live the life that was meant for us.  We don’t have to suffer. We don’t have to be ashamed.  We can learn from the hard times and take those lessons with us into the future.

I leave you with this. Found on a friend’s cover photo.

10675532_10101121754646735_3502652711836969364_n

“It’s okay to be a glow stick. Sometimes we need to break before we SHINE.”

2 thoughts on “Being It

Leave a Reply

